Port Clinton Lighthouse
The restored lighthouse is Port Clinton's second, built in 1896 and placed at the entrance of the Portage River where it remained active for more than 30 yrs. The light was decommissioned in the late 1920s but remained a welcome sight to locals and visitors alike until it was moved in 1952. For more than 60 years, this lighthouse stood quietly on private property alongside the bank of the Portage River. Restoration of the lighthouse began in 2014 by the Port Clinton Lighthouse Conservancy. On Aug 15, 2016, the lighthouse was moved to its permanent location at Water Works Park. Lighthouse lovers everywhere now have a rare opportunity to roam the interior of this unique structure while knowledgeable docents explain the importance of the pier light to local navigation and the important duties performed by the lighthouse keepers of yesteryear. Climb the wooden spiral staircase to the lantern room and view the fully-functioning fifth-order Fresnel lens, then walk out onto the gallery deck for a spectacular view of Lake Erie and its famous islands. Tours: May 26-Sept 3, Fri-Sun 12-4 pm. Special Tours: May 29; July 4; Sept 4; Oct 14, 12-4 pm. Grounds are open year-round. Rates: $3/person.